Skip Navigation

Adopt-A-School Program

Junior Achievement's Adopt-A-School (AAS) program was implemented in 2000. The initiative allows a company to partner with a particular school, underwriting the JA materials needed to address the needs of the educators.

Junior Achievement's Adopt-A-School (AAS) program was implemented in 2000. The initiative allows a company to partner with a particular school, underwriting the JA materials needed to address the needs of the educators. Some of the adopt-a-school business partners have a large base of employees who are also able to teach the JA curriculum. The cost of becoming an Adopt-A-School partner is $5,000 per year.
Each year, JA's AAS partners are invited to attend the annual Adopt-A-School & Community Partners Breakfast. This event affords representatives from the business community to meet their school partners – teachers, principals, and students - as well as be recognized for their investment in the lives of these young people.
In addition to the presentation of the partnerships, JA's Volunteer and Teacher of the Year awards are also presented. 

2021-22 Adopt-a-School Partners

JA's Adopt-A-School initiative was introduced four years ago and allows companies to take ownership of a particular school. A company invests $5,000 in JA, and that allows JA to initiate at least ten classes at the school impacting at least 250-300 students with the program's business and economic curriculum. The company may choose the school they want to sponsor – elementary, middle or high school.

Gold Partners

JA Board of Directors - Tates Creek Elementary and Middle Schools

Toyota Motor Manufacturing - No designated school

Silver Partners

Ann Bakhaus - Garden Springs Elementary School

Ball Homes - Edythe J. Hayes Middle School

Beaufort Bonnet Company, The - Arlington Elementary, Booker T. Washington Elementary, William Wells Brown Elementary, and Mary Todd Elementary Schools

Central Bank & Trust - Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

Community Trust Bank - Tates Creek High School

Cowgill Partners LP - Frederick Douglass High School

Crowe Horwath, LLP - Jessie Clark Middle School

Davis H. Elliot Company - Athens-Chilesburg Elementary School

Kentucky Blood Center - Lafayette High School

Lexmark International - Yates Elementary School

LG&E/KU - Liberty Elementary School

Quantrell Auto Group - Northern Elementary School

Traditional Bank - Southern Middle School

Valvoline - Breckinridge Elementary School

Financial Literacy Program Partners


Kentucky Bank


PNC Bank

Curriculum Partners

Bechtel Parsons Blue Grass

Carol Rosenthal Foundation

Children's Charity of the Bluegrass

Fayette County Public Schools


Past Teacher of the Year

The teachers are nominated by their classroom volunteer. The selection committee evaluates the following information - the length of time they have had JA in their classroom, the number of classes they have had during their tenure and, most importantly, how they extend their JA activities into the community and everyday lessons.

2002/03 - Claudette Allen

2003/04 - Mary Jane Kinman

2004/05 - Alan Curtsinger

2005/06 - Debbie Owens

2006/07 - Shawna Baker

2007/08 - Debbie Case

2008/09 - Maria Wertler

2009/10 - Kay Swain

2010/11 - Jody Cabble

2011/12 - Charles Atinay

2012/13 - Kevin Clary

2013/14 - Mike Reilly

2014/15 - Stephanie Simms

2015/16 - Mary Beth Olds

2016/17 - Elizabeth Davis

2017/18 - Cindy Gatsos

2018/19 - Shawna Petke

2019/20 - Rhonda Jackson

Past Volunteer of the Year

The volunteers are nominated by their teachers and are chosen based on criteria including; the number of classes taught, the length of time they have taught for JA, their assistance in recruiting other volunteers, as well as the qualities that make them a role model for their students.

2001/02 - Bruce Moore 

2002/03 - Scotty Bailey 

2003/04 - Chuck Siemen 

2004/05 - Andy Cohen 

2005/06 - Veva Bentley 

2006/07 - Roy Turley 

2007/08 - Rodney Webber

2008/09 - Mahendran Naidu

2009/10 - Wallace Brooks

2010/11 - Debbie Fatkin

2011/12 - Manson Myles

2012/13 - Ronn Robinson

2013/14 - Jeff Vanderhorst

2014/15 - Craig Browning

2015/16 - Karen Cropper & Kelly Abraham

2016/17 - John Hibbard & Tommy Roberts

2017/18 - Garry Conley & Ryan Worthen

2018/19 - Ava Steele & Amanda Nielsen

2019/20 - Kathy Leigh & Roy Turley

To learn more, please email Laurel Raimondo Martin or call 859-219-2423.

Adopt-A-School Program

JA of the Bluegrass Spotlight

picture of students participating in JA BizTown

2024-2025 JA BizTown & JA Finance Park Sign-Up Calendars

JA BizTown & JA Finance Park combine in-class learning with a visit to a simulated town.

Learn More
High school students with volunteer

Current Volunteer Opportunities

As a JA volunteer, you'll be paired with a teacher in a classroom. By being a JA volunteer and sharing your personal and professional experiences and skills with students from your community, you help them make the connection between what they are learning in school and what they will need to succeed in work and life.

Learn More
View the details for JA of the Bluegrass Business Hall of Fame

JA of the Bluegrass Business Hall of Fame

  Where: Keeneland
 When: Thursday, May 23, 2024 6:00 PM

The Laureates inducted into the Bluegrass Business Hall of Fame have substance in the American Dream. Their labor and vision not only benefited their own businesses but also improved the quality of life in the entire Bluegrass area.

Learn More
View the details for JA of the Bluegrass Inspire Virtual

JA of the Bluegrass Inspire Virtual

  Where: Virtual
 When: Wednesday, November 15, 2023 9:00 AM

JA Inspire is more than a career fair, it brings together the business community and local schools and is designed to help launch 6th through 12th grade students, along with young adults age 18-25, into their futures: high school, college, and careers beyond.

Learn More

We use cookies to provide you a personalized experience. How we do this is by analyzing user behavior on our site and sharing data with our advertising and analytics partners. You consent to our cookie policy if you continue to use this website.

I understand